Japan, Dec 2023, and ‘The Artist’s Way’

Kichijōji Park, Tokyo, Japan.

As I wind up my two month trip around Japan, Fiji and New Zealand, I’m reflecting on a return to image making after some months (years?) of creative block. During the trip I finally got around to doing Julia Cameron’s ‘The Artist’s Way’ which revealed to me all the negative bias I have towards my creativity. I’m returning to Berlin afresh, full of impressions from the islands I’ve inhabited these last 8 weeks and with a renewed resolve to carve out more creative time and invest in new ways of nurturing my artist. Dragging my heavy Minolta SRT 101 camera around with me was no joke (she weighs a ton), but the joy of taking photos extensively and sharing those moments with a loved one who is also rediscovering their love of photography, are priceless. See more pics from the trip here.